Looking Into a Lens

screenshot_2016-10-23-06-25-57-1

For my first cycle, I dove into the world of photography. In complete honesty, once assigned this rotation, I became overwrought. Considering that I had never handled a camera worth more than my life, I accepted each assignment with apprehension. Thankfully, with overweening help from Kalli, my knowledge of each setting and lens grew extensively. I also believe, quite surprisingly, this section added to my character.

As I attended a handful of sports games, adjusting shutter speeds and ISO counts became essential; both of which, I had never even heard of before taking journalism. Being attentive to the action is vital to capture a memorable moment. Before being the person behind the lens, I never took into consideration the purpose behind sports photos: to get the view that one would never see unless standing in your place.

Throughout spirit week, it was interesting to see the multifarious reactions. While some appeared to be rebarbative, others loved the limelight. For this cycle, I was able to adapt to the community of LCC; surprisingly, I grew to become quite gregarious. While this is simply the first rotation, I´m glad I was given the opportunity to become social in this manner. While fully aware of the importance of interviews for future cycles, photography gave me a base on how to introduce myself to new people while giving them the obvious choice to open up. I found ways to establish a capricious aura; by doing so, students were quick to be themselves – the best version of themselves. I´m elated to know that I was able to capture said variants.

Hoping to take what I´ve earned from photo, I wish to apply that to the future rotations. While I was attentive to each shot blinded by the flash of a camera, I want to be as attentive to my wording and those I´ve chosen to interview. I feel as if I applied an amount of effort into each assignment that I can be proud of; I want to continue to be proud of my effort in future cycles.

Leave a Reply

