Time For a Family Meeting

8ig6dxk8t

To be frank, finding someone willing to share their life was rather hard; if anything, strangers in the past seemed to open up to me more than my own family members. A cousin of mine, Aracely Ruiz agreed and shared the not the bright moments of growing up. This cousin, in particular, has always carried herself in a run and positive manner. Aracely is always the one to make jokes throughout an entire family reunion – this interview showcased what was behind her drollery.

I found that interviewing someone with such an emotional story is one of the hardest things to do (I can only imagine being on the other side as well, allowing myself to be vulnerable). I believe that during an interview it is important to maintain a level of composure while still being considerate of the interviewee. Keeping this in mind, I had to remind myself to be attentive in order ask appropriate follow-up questions. This assignment only made me realize how important follow-up questions are; without them, there wouldn’t be a story to write and/or share with the rest of the world.

Of course, not every interview will always revolve around ones hardships – for not every story has a bad ending. This experience, however, has allowed me to grow as an interviewer in the sense that I can adapt myself to multifarious situations.

Leave a Reply

